The Bible has taught me, inspired me, guided me and always ‘spoken’ to me in my times of distress. Its the most wonderful gift from God to mankind. The more I read it, the more it speaks to me.

Today, I just thought of sharing my experience of understanding Proverbs 31: 10-31; the most famous passage in the Bible that points out the characteristics of the ‘ideal’ woman!

Epilogue: The Wife of Noble Character

10 [b]A wife of noble character who can find?
    She is worth far more than rubies.
11 Her husband has full confidence in her
    and lacks nothing of value.
12 She brings him good, not harm,
    all the days of her life.
13 She selects wool and flax
    and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships,
    bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still night;
    she provides food for her family
    and portions for her female servants.
16 She considers a field and buys it;
    out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously;
    her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable,
    and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff
    and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
20 She opens her arms to the poor
    and extends her hands to the needy.
21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
    for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed;
    she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,
    where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
    and supplies the merchants with sashes.
25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
    she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom,
    and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
27 She watches over the affairs of her household
    and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
    her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things,
    but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,
    and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

This passage had very less meaning in my life, until I got married. This is the only passage I kept reading and re-reading after the engagement until my wedding, trying to make it sink into my soul and spirit. And its such a delight to read it once again today after a long time and realize that in my subconscious mind this has sunk in quite deep. I can now truly say that I am on the road to becoming a Proverbs 31 woman!

When I got married last year, I was mature enough to handle the new relationship, but little did I know of the upcoming tests that I might have to face. I had to find a new job in a different place to settle down where my husband lived, set up our new house all by myself, take care of my mother, plan to have a child, complete my PhD on time…but, today one year after my wedding, when I look back, I see how the Lord has faithfully led me to achieve all that my heart desired and yearned for, throughout this time.

I was blessed with a great job at Manipal University, with a very professional work environment, which gives me a lot of time to prepare for my PhD and take care of the affairs at home. I was also blessed with my baby girl, Tanya, within the first year of my marriage. She has brought new meaning to my life. I have also been able to make significant advances in my PhD and might be labelled a ‘Doctor’ pretty soon..

I am least worthy of all of these blessings, but Christ is always faithful. Every day I wake up in the morning, hustling and bustling about my kitchen and house, timing all my work, soothing my little girl when she’s awake, and then rushing off to the University for work, getting back and finishing my work only by late hours of the night. But through it all, each day, I ask for the Lord’s grace and strength to help me face the day. As a working woman, I have double responsibilities, at office and at home, and balancing both is quite a task.

At the end of each day, when I peacefully lie down to sleep, I thank the Lord for the strength that he has blessed me with for the day, and think of the Proverbs 31 woman. She is such a perfect working woman!! She is capable of taking care of her family, home and works to earn in parallel. She is such a great inspiration for all the working women out there!! This passage might sound very unreal but a woman that achieves all that the Proverbs 31 woman does, definitely needs to be praised.

I would like to urge each of you working women to read this passage at least once daily and meditate on it throughout the day to draw strength for the day’s work. Its a great inspiration and helps you to focus more and achieve more in whatever you do either at work or at home.